At the Annual Meeting of the WEST DEVON BOROUGH COUNCIL held in the COUNCIL CHAMBER, KILWORTHY PARK, TAVISTOCK on TUESDAY the 31st day of MAY 2023 at 11.00am pursuant to Notice given and Summons duly served.

#### Members in attendance

\* Denotes attendance ø Denotes apology for absence \*\* Denotes Attendance Via Teams in a non-voting capacity

\* Cllr C Mott – The Mayor (In The Chair)

Cllr K Ball

Cllr A Blackman

Cllr A Bridgewater

Cllr J Moody
Cllr M Casbolt \* Cllr R Oxbor
Cllr R Cheadle \* Cllr M Rende
Cllr A Cunningham © Cllr I Saxby
Cllr L Daniel \* Cllr D Sallin
Cllr G Daniel

Cllr G Dexter

Cllr C Edmonds

Cllr J Elliott

Cllr M Ewings Cllr S Guthrie

Cllr A Johnson

\* Cllr N Jory

\* Cllr P Kimber

\* Cllr T Leech

\* Cllr J Moody

\* Cllr R Oxborough\* Cllr M Renders

\* Cllr T Southcott

\* Cllr P SquireØ Cllr P Vachon

\* Cllr S Wakeham\* Cllr L Watts

## Officers in attendance

Chief Executive; Deputy Chief Executive; Section 151 Officer; Monitoring Officer, Democratic Services Manager; Assistant Director Strategy & Organisational Development (via Teams)

#### CM 1/23 MAYOR'S SPECIAL RECOGNITION AWARD

The Mayor presented a Special Recognition Award to local photographer Mr Chris Chapman for his contribution to the West Devon area in photographing life on Dartmoor over many years.

On receipt of his award, Mr Chapman briefly addressed the meeting.

#### CM 2/23 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Cllrs G Dexter, I Saxby and P Vachon.

## CM 3/23 APPOINTMENT OF MAYOR

Cllr M Ewings moved the appointment of Cllr L Daniel as Mayor for the ensuing year and Cllr N Jory subsequently seconded the motion.

No other nominations were received and, upon the motion being submitted to the meeting, it was declared to be **CARRIED** and "**RESOLVED** that Cllr L Daniel be appointed Mayor for the ensuing year".

The retiring Mayor and newly elected Mayor left the Council Chamber so that Cllr Daniel could be invested with the civic regalia.

Upon returning to the Council Chamber, the newly elected Mayor, Cllr L Daniel, made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office, signed the Register and addressed the Council.

Cllr L Daniel then chaired the remainder of the meeting.

Cllr N Jory proposed a vote of thanks to the retiring Mayor. The proposition was seconded by Cllr M Ewings.

Cllr L Daniel then invested Cllr C Mott and Mr K Mott with the Past Mayor's and her Consort's Medallions.

The retiring Mayor, Cllr C Mott proceeded to address the meeting.

#### CM 4/23 APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR

The Mayor called for nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor.

Cllr N Jory moved the appointment of Cllr D Sellis and Cllr M Renders subsequently seconded the motion.

There being no other nominations, it was declared to be **CARRIED** and "**RESOLVED** that Cllr D Sellis be appointed as Deputy Mayor for the ensuing year".

The Deputy Mayor then made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office, signed the register and proceeded to address the Council.

## CM 5/23 DECLARATION OF INTEREST

The Mayor invited Members to declare any interests in the items of business to be considered during the course of the meeting, but there were none made.

## CM 6/23 CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

It was moved by Cllr C Mott, seconded by Cllr C Edmonds and upon the motion being submitted to the Meeting was declared to be **CARRIED** and "**RESOLVED** that the Council agree the Minutes of the 4 April 2023 meeting".

# CM 7/23 APPOINTMENT OF LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

#### a. Leader

It was moved by Cllr M Renders, seconded by Cllr N Jory and upon the motion being submitted to the Meeting was declared to be **CARRIED** and "**RESOLVED** that Cllr M Ewings be appointed Leader of the Council for the ensuing year."

## b. Deputy Leader

It was moved by Cllr M Ewings, seconded by Cllr N Jory and upon the motion being submitted to the Meeting was declared to be **CARRIED** and "**RESOLVED** that Cllr M Renders be appointed Deputy Leader of the Council for the ensuing year."

Cllr Ewings proceeded to address the Meeting.

## CM 8/23 REPORT OF THE FORMATION OF POLITICAL GROUPS

Members noted the schedule of officially appointed political groups as follows:

- West Devon Alliance Group (comprising of 17 Members); and
- Conservative Group Members (comprising of 11 Members).

It was also noted that the political composition of the Council would be further reviewed once the Burrator and Tavistock North By-Elections had been held.

## CM 9/23 COMMITTEE STRUCTURE

It was moved by Cllr M Ewings, seconded by Cllr M Renders and upon the motion being submitted to the Meeting was declared to be **CARRIED** and "**RESOLVED** that the Committee structure be as follows for the coming year:

Audit & Governance 7 Members:

Hub 9 Members (to include Leader

and Deputy Leader);

Overview & Scrutiny 15 Members:

Development Management & Licensing 10 Members (& Named

Substitutes):

Council Tax Setting 4 Members; and

Regeneration & Investment 3 Members.

Dartmoor National Park Authority 2 Members

with all of the appointments to the above Committees being politically balanced".

## CM 10/23 APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT PERSONS

The Council considered a report that sought approval for the reappointment, until the next annual meeting, of five persons as Independent Persons to assist in the discharge of the Council's arrangements for dealing with standards complaints

It was then proposed by Cllr M Ewings, seconded by Cllr M Renders and upon being submitted to the Meeting was declared to be **CARRIED** and "**RESOLVED** that the following persons be appointed as Independent Persons until the next annual meeting:

George Barnicott Peter Boreham Martin Gleed Trevor Kirkin Victoria Spence."

## CM 11/23 MINUTES OF COMMITTEES

# a) Overview & Scrutiny Committee - 21 March 2023

It was moved by Cllr M Ewings, seconded by Cllr P Kimber and upon being submitted to the Meeting was declared to be **CARRIED** and "**RESOLVED** that the Minutes of the 21 March 2023 meeting be received and noted".

# b) Regeneration & Investment Committee - 2 May 2023

It was moved by Cllr C Edmonds, seconded by Cllr R Cheadle and upon being submitted to the Meeting was declared to be **CARRIED** and **"RESOLVED** that the Minutes of the 2 May 2023 meeting be received and noted".

## CM 12/23 HONORARY ALDERMEN - PROCESS

The Council gave consideration to a report that sought approval for the criteria and procedure to appoint Honorary Aldermen

During debate, a Member questioned whether a certificate or other tangible item could be presented to those past Members who were conferred the title of Honorary Aldermen. In reply, it was confirmed that this would be possible and a number of options would be examined.

It was then proposed by Cllr C Mott, seconded by Cllr M Ewings and upon being submitted to the Meeting was declared to be **CARRIED** and "**RESOLVED** that:

- 1. the criteria for appointing Honorary Aldermen of the Council as set out in paragraph 3.1 of the presented report, be approved; and
- 2. Group Leaders be invited to make nominations to appoint Honorary Aldermen of the Council, prior to the arrangement of a Special Council meeting specifically convened for this purpose.

## CM 13/23 MEETING ADJOURNMENT

The Mayor confirmed that, at this point, the Annual Meeting was to be adjourned and would be reconvened on **27 June 2023** at **2.30pm**.

| •                                    | Mayor |
|--------------------------------------|-------|
|                                      |       |
| (The Meeting terminated at 12.25 pm) |       |